Wisconsin Broadcasters Association

“I can’t wait for next year!”

“I had an awesome time!​ Great day overall!”

“Very interesting, great experience”

“I loved it all.”

“Had a great time. Will attend next year.”

“Always love this seminar”

Those were just a few of the comments from over 110 students who attended the 2018 WBA Student Seminar on Saturday, Feb. 24 at the Madison Marriott West.

Another successful event can be attributed to the hard work of the WBA Education Committee. I have the pleasure of being the chair of this active and hard working group of educators and broadcast professionals. Another contribution to the seminar’s success is financial support from the WBA in helping to pay for hotel rooms for students who traveled from distant areas around the state. 

The program featured Melinda Davenport, morning anchor at WISN-TV 12 News in Milwaukee.

Students chose to attend three of ten panels in the morning. Topics included: Campus Radio and TV Stations, Social Media, Sports Play-by-Play and Reporting, Know Your Rights: Media and Open Government, Engineering, Broadcast Sales and Marketing, Radio and TV News Reporting, What Makes a Good Podcasting Session, and Student Storytellers Website.

At noon, students participated in either a session titled Get a Job – Resume, Interview and Follow-up or Speed Networking, which was patterned after the speed dating concept. Twenty-two broadcast professionals met individually in six minute intervals with students who could ask questions about any topic.

The afternoon luncheon concluded the seminar and was highlighted by Melinda’s keynote address, the presentation of the WBA Foundation scholarships to four recipients, and the 15th annual Student Awards for Excellence, which had more than 240 entries. Five new categories were added this year. Two schools, Union Grove and Bay Port, Green Bay won awards in the newly created high school competition. In addition, this year’s Leadership Award was presented to Ian Schrank from the Marquette University. The award is given to a broadcasting or broadcast journalism student of junior standing or above who attends a Wisconsin college or university and who has most noticeably developed and exercised effective and creative skills in leadership.

In addition to Melinda, I would like to thank the broadcast professionals who served as speakers and panelists. They’re listed in our thank yous below.

On behalf of the Education Committee, I would also like to thank Linda, Michelle, Liz, and Kyle for helping to ensure the seminar’s success.   

We look forward to 2019 and another outstanding student seminar!

Ken Beno, WBA Education Committee, Chair


Speakers and Moderators

Ken Beno, WBA Education Chair

David Sanks, WBA Foundation Chair

Turina Bakken, Madison College

Dave Black, Education Committee, UW-Madison

Andi Brooks, Mid-West Family, Madison

Justine Braun, Internet Director, WAOW-TV

Christopher Comella, Director of Human Resources, Bliss Communications

Alexander Crowe, News Director, WMDC FM, Mayville

Joe Daguanno, Mid-West Family, Madison

Melinda Davenport, Morning Anchor, WISN12 News, Milwaukee

Randall Davidson, Education Committee, UW-Oshkosh

Pat Hastings, Education Committee, UW-Madison

Krista Hatcher, Mid-West Family, Madison

Brandon Kinnard, Sports Director, WAOW TV, Wausau

Lane Kimble, News Director, WJFW TV, Rhinelander

Bill Lueders, President, WI Freedom of Information Council

Dean Maytag, Education Committee, Milwaukee

Maureen McCollum, “Morning Edition” Wisconsin Public Radio

Mike O’Brien, Vice President/General Manager WCLO/WJVL, Janesville

Kevin Ruppert, Chief Engineer, WISC TV

Mike Schmitt, Education Committee, UW Green Bay

Chris Shofner, Education Committee, UW-Stevens Point

Nancy Stilwell, Education Committee, Madison College

Don Vesely, General Manager, WMTV, Madison

Christa Westerberg, Co Vice President, WI Freedom of Information Council

John Wilson, Online News Producer, Wisconsin Public Radio

WBA Education Committee
Ken Beno, Committee Chair

Dave Black, WSUM Radio

Randall Davidson, UW-Oshkosh

Sandy Ellis, UW-River Falls

Pat Hastings, UW-Madison

Terry Havel, UW-Parkside

Erik Johnson, UW-River Falls

Jack Kapfer, UW-Eau Claire

Judy Konkel, UW-Rock County

Maryann Lazarski, Milwaukee Public Television

Brian Lucas, UW-Whitewater

Dean Maytag, WBA Foundation Committee

Jim Mead, UW-Whitewater

Mike O’Brien, WCLO/WJVL

Kevin Pulz, Milwaukee Public Television

Mike Schmitt, UW-Green Bay

Chris Shofner, UW-Stevens Point

Dr. Robert Snyder, UW-Platteville

Nancy Stillwell, Madison Media Institute

Speed Networking Panelist

Amy Carlson, Meteorologist, WMTV TV

Jared Clark, Sales Manager, MID-WEST FAMILY

Matthew Clark, News 3 This Morning Producer, WISC TV

Herb Cody, Vice President/Market Manager, WGLR/WPVL

Joe Daguanno, Director of Group Digital Sales, MID-WEST FAMILY

John DeSimone, General Manager, WMSN TV

Brian Doogs, Meteorologist, WMTV TV

Sean Dwyer, News Director, WXOW TV

Dave Edwards, Director & General Manager, WUWM MILWAUKEE PUBLIC RADIO

Lane Kimble, News Director, WJFW

Judy Konkel, Community Radio,  WADR-LPFM

Paige Lobdell, 5 and 9 pm Producer, WMTV TV

Dean Maytag, Retired, Formerly WISN-TV         

Maureen McCollum, Morning Edition Host and Reporter, Wisconsin Public Radio

Rick McCoy, General Manager, Mid-West Family Broadcast Group-Madison

Sara Noonan, Digital Content Producer, WMTV TV

Tom Olson, Partnership Development Manager, Good Karma Brands and ESPN Wisconsin

David Sanks, WBA Foundation Chair, Former GM, WISC TV

Tyah Sartler-Williams, General Sales Manager & Digital Sales, Milwaukee Radio Group

Don Vesely, General Manager, WMTV, Madison

Steve Wexler, WBA Chair, E.W. Scripps Company

Morgan Wolfe, Anchor, Producer and Multimedia Journalist, WMTV TV

Special Thanks
American Awards & Promotions

Liz Boyd, WBA NCSA/PEP Coordinator

Kyle Geissler, Director of Operations and Public Affairs

Madison Marriott West hotel staff

Greg Powers, Lake Land College

Student award judges in Illinois

Congratulations to all student award winners, scholarship recipients, and leadership award recipient


Download the WBA App