Wisconsin Broadcasters Association


“It was a great seminar and helpful information.”

“I had a very eye opening experience and learned there are a lot of opportunities.”

“I enjoyed the variety of sessions.”
“I have been inspired.”

“The seminar was overall very beneficial.”

Those were just a few of the comments from more than 140 students who attended the 2020 WBA Student Seminar on March 7 at the Madison Marriott.

Another successful event can be attributed to the hard work of the WBA Education Committee in putting together an outstanding program, which featured, director, voice actor, film producer, and screenwriter, Phil Johnston. Phil was… Continue reading

Four scholarships will be given out during the WBA Student Seminar on March 7 to students studying broadcasting in Wisconsin. The recipients are:

Enjoyiana Nururdin

Enjoyiana Nurrdin

Enjoyiana Nururdin is the 2020 Morgan Murphy Media Scholarship recipient.                 

Enjoyiana is attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is majoring in Journalism and Political Economy, Philosophy, and Politics. She is planning to graduate in 2021.

Enjoyiana’s career goal is to become a political broadcast journalist. She started her ambitious academic career early working for the Simpson Street Free Press… Continue reading

Al Lancaster has been voted to the position of Chair of the WBA Foundation Board.

Lancaster is the General Manager of WSAW-TV/WZAW-TV in Wausau. He previously served on the WBA Board and as WBA Board Chair in 2010. He joined the WBA Foundation Board in 2018. Previous chair, David Sanks, will continue to serve out his term on the board.

The Foundation Board voted on elections on Jan. 28.

WBA Hall of Famer Bruce Grassman, Results Broadcasting, was elected to serve as Vice-Chair. Three others were also named to the Foundation Board: WBA Hall of Fame member Greg Bell; Lynn… Continue reading

WBA Hall of Famer and livelong broadcaster Don Seehafer is being remembered as a career broadcaster with a positive attitude.

Seehafer died Tuesday. He was 84.

In 1952, while still in high school, Seehafer began his broadcasting career as a sports announcer in his hometown of Marshfield, Wisconsin at WDLB radio. He also served stints at WPFP radio in Park Falls and WIGM radio in Medford. He purchased his first radio station KRBI, St. Peter, Minnesota in 1960 and in 1970 purchased WOMT, Manitowoc and soon after added WQTC-FM and then expanded to Wausau, purchasing WXCO-AM in 1973 and building… Continue reading

Binnu Palta Hill, the Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion at the University of Wisconsin School of Business, will be the guest speaker at the 2020 Walker Broadcast Management Institute dinner.

The dinner will be held at April 15 at the Fluno Center on the UW campus as part of the 2020 Walker Broadcast Management Institute.

Hill’s address is titled, “Enhancing Employee Engagement, Innovation and Performance by Leading Inclusively.”

Managers have a direct impact engagement and performance of their team members. Research shows that leaders who practice inclusive leadership are able to nurture cohesive teams with lower turnover and higher… Continue reading

The agenda for the 2020 Walker Broadcast Management Institute has been released. The three-day institute will be held April 14-16 at the UW Business School in Madison.

The Walker Broadcast Management Institute is now in its 23th year, having completed its first seven, 3-year management education cycle in 2018. The 2020 Institute marks the second year of another 3-year cycle (although you may join the cycle at any time) and is designed for broadcast managers and those seeking or being prepared for broadcast management positions…

April 14, 2020

Financial Management for Broadcasters

The WBA and the WBA Foundation appreciate those who have chosen broadcast engineering as a profession. We realize that all broadcast engineers must stay current in broadcast engineering knowledge, skills, practices, and technologies, and that involves an investment of time and money.

As the broadcast industry evolves, so must our understanding of how to implement new media transmission. Unfortunately, often busy schedules and tight budgets for most engineering departments do not permit engineers to learn new skills and acquire an understanding of new technology. How are broadcast engineers able to keep up-to-date so that our industry thrives?

The WBA and… Continue reading

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Foundation Hall of Fame Committee is now requesting and accepting nominations for the Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame.  

The Hall of Fame nomination process is open and will run through Feb. 15, 2020. Submissions should be made on the official nomination form and sent to the WBA Foundation office. Selected nominees will be inducted on June 18, 2020, during the annual WBA Hall of Fame Dinner. The dinner will be held at the Radisson Hotel in La Crosse in conjunction with the WBA Summer Conference.

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame was established… Continue reading

Do you know a student who could use assistance with educational expenses?      

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Foundation offers two $2,000 scholarships and two $1,000 scholarships. Students who meet eligibility requirements are encouraged to apply for these scholarships. The application deadline is FRIDAY.

The application is available on the WBA website.

Students who have completed at least one-half of their degree or graduation requirements in a media or media-related course of study are encouraged to apply.

Applicants must have either graduated from a Wisconsin high school or be attending a Higher Educational… Continue reading

Download the WBA “MemberPlus” App